2 min read

UFO: Unidentified Footprint Outlines

UFO: Unidentified Footprint Outlines

by Malia Barrele /

Have you seen these? What are they?

Red Rock sits on the northern shores of Jervis Bay, set within a sanctuary zone of Jervis Bay National Marine Park. It has long been a crowd favourite among Shoalhaven locals seeking a protected, quiet and charming place to swim or picnic.

"Jerriwerri" to the Jerrinja traditional landowners, Red Rock has been one of my beach day go-to's since I was tiny, but it wasn't until a week ago that I discovered something unusual...

Spread over most of the rock platform out at the point are footprints, sort of dried up into the rock. I've searched online and talked to locals, but I can't seem to figure out what they are/how they're formed/how long they've been there. Some are massive adult-sized and others look like toddler prints.

At first, I thought there was just one or two, but as soon as I got used to what I was looking for, they were everywhere. Mysterious.

Got the answer?